Uncontested Oradell Race Leads to Koth, Alonso's Return on Dais

Councilman James Koth was named Council President for the second year

For the second consecutive year, an uncontested race has led to the all Republican status quo to remain in place in Oradell. Councilmembers James Koth and Donna Alonso were officially sworn in on Sunday afternoon after facing zero competition at the polls.

Koth, who was renamed Council President for the second year, . First elected to the governing body in 2009, the lifelong borough resident is a product of both the Oradell Public and River Dell school systems as well as volunteering as a third generation firefighter in town.

He is the Vice President of a New York State Public Benefit Corporation with focused responsibility in Manhattan managing the day to day operations of newly created public space and amenities on a formerly industrial waterfront. 

Alonso, the Business Administrator with the Alpine School District, having earned 2,309 votes enters her third term on the governing body. She has been appointed as Insurance Commissioner for the past six years.

"I am happy to congratulate Councilwoman Alonso and Councilman Koth on their reelection and thank the voters of Oradell for their support," Mayor Joseph Murray said. "This past year we've achieved many goals and among the accomplishments have been upgrading the technology equipment at borough hall, fundraising to host fireworks in 2013 for the 100th birthday of the library, identify and hire a new chief financial officer, create a policy procedure for purchasing, receive equipment donations to OPTV from ABC and eliminate the use of pesticides on all borough parks.

Murray concluded that during the coming year the governing body will continue to look at upgrading technology at borough facilities as well has  having a complete review of a study on the longterm use of borough hall.

During the reorganization meeting, Koth was unanimously renamed as Council President for the second year while Councilman Ed Pfleging was named to the Planning Board.

Council Liaisons:

Donna Alonso - Recreation, Historic Committee

James Koth - Drug Alliance

Garrie Murphy - OPTV

Eric Shuler - Board of Health, Special Events

Antonio Meo - Chamber of Commerce, Education

Edward Pfleging - Beautification, Environmental Committees

Council Committees

Library and Insurance - *Alonso, Koth, Meo

Police & Emergency Management - *Koth, Shuler, Pflegin

Finance & Shared Services - *Murphy, Koth, Shuler

Fire & Ambulance - *Shuler, Alonso, Murphy

Administration, Regional School Funding, Economic Development, Communications and Technology - *Meo, Murray, Pfleging

DPW, Engineering & Real Estate - *Pfleging, Alonso, Shuler

Ordinance - *Murray, Alonso, Meo

*denotes chair of committee

Follow Patch on Facebook and Twitter or subscribe to our free daily newsletter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »