Wejnert Named to State Coaches Hall of Fame

The Lady Hawks basketball coach will be honored during an April 14 awards program in Edison

With over 400 wins to his name and 18 years of coaching experience, Lady Hawks head basketball coach Lou Wejnert will be the fifth River Dell coach to be inducted into the New Jersey Scholastic Coaches Assocation/NJ State Interscholastic Athletic Assocation Hall of Fame this spring.

Wejnert is one of 36 New Jersey coaches that will be honored during the April 14 Awards Program at Pines Manor in Edison. He joins fellow River Dell coaches Jose Ortiz (Golf, 2009), Dianne Furusawa (Volleyball, 2008), Brian Long (Boys Basketball, 2003) and Ralph Raymond (Tennis, 2002) in the Hall of Fame.

Having coached some of River Dell's greatest girls basketball players including Alyssa May, Lindsay Davis, Kate Brock, Deirdre McCarthy, Maureen Kehoe, and Breanne Depken, Wejnert reached his 400th career win in early January as just part of his most recent accomplishments.

During his tenure at River Dell, the Lady Hawks have reached the state tournament for 17 years, earned the sectional title in 2006, 2007 and 2010 and claimed the County title in 1997.

With an overall record of 413-90 as of Wednesday, Feb. 20, Wejnert now has coached 15 seasons with 20 or more wins and has never suffered a sub-.500 season. He will lead the Lady Hawks in their 18th state tournament appearance beginning Feb. 26.

The New Jersey Scholastic Coaches Association is in its nineteenth year of existence and the Hall of Fame was created in 1961 to honor all football coaches with undefeated seasons. Since then, the program has expanded to honor present and former coaches of  all sports, nominated by their peers.

Fellow Bergen County coaches Chris Annibal (Garfield, Basketball), Helen Antzoulides (Rutherford/Paterson Catholic, Volleyball/Softball), Jim Fucci (Cliffside Park, Boys Soccer), Jim Gallione (Westwood, Wrestling), Bob Goidell (Old Tappan, Track), Kathy Graef (Old Tappan, Cross Country), and Craig Nielsen (Pascack Valley, Football/Softball) will be inducted to the Hall of Fame as well.

Tara Madigan (Northern Highlands, Girls Soccer) and Timothy Wieland (Pascack Valley, Boys Tennis) will be recognized by the National Federation Coaches Association also.

Follow Patch on Facebook and Twitter or subscribe to our free daily newsletter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something